Louisiana Real Estate License Guide

Quick Facts

Louisiana Real Estate Governing Body:

Louisiana Real Estate Commission

PreLicensing Requirements:

90 Hours

СЕ Requirements:

12 Hours

Read more below

How to Get a Louisiana Real Estate License

getting a real estate licenseReal estate can be a very fulfilling career in the Creole State. In fact, any industry is, just ask Reese Witherspoon, and Tim McGraw. The state is rich in human and natural resources like oil, natural gas, commercial fishing, chemicals, agriculture, you name it.

That’s why more and more people are choosing to move to Louisiana. They are relocating to earn money in these growing industries. Once you earn a real estate license, you can choose to work as a realtor in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Shreveport. You can be inland or choose to live and work along the Gulf of Mexico. It won’t take long before The Bayou State will begin to reward you. Louisiana is known for it’s good food, jazz music, and of course the ever famous Mardi Gras festival.

Getting a Louisiana real estate license is not hard, but there are requirements that must be met. Let’s show you how to get your hands on a Louisiana state license.

Step 1: Know The Requirements

Meet The Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC), they are the top dogs when it comes to real estate. The Commission determines the rules, policies, and also issues licenses. The smart people at the Louisiana Real Estate Commission are the ones to please.

To qualify for a real estate salesperson’s license in Louisiana, you need to meet these categories:

  • Be at least 18 years or older
  • You must hold a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Be lawfully eligible to work in the United States
  • Have a valid Social Security Number
  • Pass a background check that involves you submitting your fingerprints
  • Provide mandatory proof of errors & omissions insurance

This is the easy part, and you either check the boxes or you don’t. If you have a prior record, or if your fingerprints have been taken before, first ensure you’ve paid all your fines and fees. If your record is more serious (if it involves a mugshot) don’t sweat. Rules are different state per state.

Reciprocity

If you’re already a licensed real estate salesperson in another state and you’d like to expand to Louisiana, the state permits full reciprocity with current real estate license holders in

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Mississippi
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania

Louisiana uses a license for a license basis to offer reciprocated licenses. This means that Louisiana will only offer you the same type of license that you currently hold in your state.

Exemptions

There are a couple of broad ways you can get an exemption:

  • If you have received a university or college degree  with a major course in real estate,
  • if you have a current license in another jurisdiction and want to expand to Louisiana.

LREC may also give credit for real estate courses completed at a college or university. However, you must submit an original transcript to the LREC alongside a written request to review your application.

Step 2: Complete the 90 hours of approved Pre-Licensing Education

small group of students studyingThe LREC requires you to complete 90 hours of education before you can take the Louisiana Real Estate License Exam. The course has to be completed by an accredited provider. You have to complete the pre-licensure coursework within six (6) months of the start date. The start and end dates will be indicated on your certificate.

LREC sometimes gives partial credit to the pre-licensing requirements for courses completed more than five (5) years prior to the date of application. They usually consider the changes in the syllabus between that time and how applicable the syllabus is to the present time.

The topics in the course include:

  • Real estate principles/practices
  • Louisiana Real Estate License Law
  • Commission Rules/Regulations
  • Law of Agency
  • Civil Law pertaining to real estate.

Most providers offer pre-licensing courses online or in person.

Step 3: Pass The Course Final Exam

studying for licensing examUpon completion of your course within the allotted time, you can go on to take the final course exam. This test will be through your school provider (It is separate from the licensing exam you will also be required to take). Then you get your certificate and you can apply for the Salesperson License Application Part A with the certificate.

Step 4: Fill out Salesperson License Application Part A

Students studying in group settingThis is the next step right here. You will need to apply for the Salesperson License Application Part A with your pre-licensing certificate of completion. Once you’ve done this and paid the required fee to LREC; you will get an authorization form to take the state and national exam from LREC via Pearson Vue with instructions to schedule your exam date/time.

Step 5: Apply, Take And  Pass The Louisiana State Real Estate Licensing Exams 

It’s time to unleash your brainpower 🧠

Within (90) days of applying, you can take the exams. The exams are divided into two parts – the national and state parts with a total of 135 questions worth 135 total points. You will be given 105 minutes to answer 80 questions.  This includes 55 questions for the national portion and 75 minutes for the state portion. The national section has a passing score of 56 while the State section has a passing score of 40. The exam also has multiple-choice questions.

man studying for licensing examYou will receive your results immediately after taking the exams. If you fail a part, you can reschedule to retake just that part. However, you have to pass both parts within one year of taking the real estate course.

Louisiana has examination centers in Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Metairie, New Orleans, and Shreveport.

Although the exam isn’t that tough, you may still need help studying for it. To help you navigate this process, you can work with a trusted real estate education provider who provides practice exams, flashcards, mini quizzes, etc.

Important: When you go to take your licensing exam, take at least two forms of photo ID cards and a non-programmable calculator.

Step 6: Find A Sponsoring Broker/Brokerage to work for

studying at coffee shopNow, The job Has Started

In Louisiana, you must first be associated or employed with a current and active Louisiana real estate brokerage firm before you can get licensed. The brokerage will act as your sponsor and you can leverage their sponsorship to apply for your license.

What Is A Broker Or A Brokerage?

A brokerage is a company headed by a broker that employs real estate agents. Real estate brokers will help you on your journey and ensure you keep the standards set by the Louisiana Government. The broker will also help you make important connections. They’ll introduce you to your first clients and teach you the rules of the business. It is also possible to become a broker after working as an agent for some years.  It’s important to find the right broker to work with since this person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate.

Step 7: Complete The Background Check Requirement.

woman studying with coffeeDon’t Freak Out Yet

After you have passed your real estate exam, you have to pass a background check. The LREC requires all applicants for a real estate license to provide a criminal background history, as part of the application process. This license is offered by Clearbox. You have to log in to the Clearbox website and create an online account to order the background check.  Background checks expire 120 days after being issued.

Step 8: Acquire Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.

Accidents are prone to happen in any job. As a realtor, your mistakes are likely to be expensive. As a result, you are required to have an Errors and Omissions insurance policy before you can obtain a license. You can choose the LREC provided group policy serviced by RISC or choose an independent plan. The choice is up to you.

Step 9: Complete the Louisiana license Application – Part B.

Now that you’re almost set, you can fill out the final part of the Real Estate License Application (Part B). With it, you send your proof/payment of your Errors and Omissions Insurance coverage to LREC and proof of broker sponsorship.

After doing this, you can expect your license to come in the mail.

Step 10: Complete 45 Post-license Education Hours.

These Guys Are Serious About Getting You Educated

After getting your license, there is a 45-hour post-licensing education that you have to take within the first 180 days of licensure. You need to do this to get issued a permanent license.

There are other yearly education courses that you’ll have to keep up with moving forward in order to keep your license valid.

Congrats! If you followed these steps you are now a Louisiana real estate salesperson.