Nevada Real Estate License Guide

Quick Facts

Nevada Real Estate Governing Body:

Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED)

PreLicensing Requirements:

90 Hours

СЕ Requirements:

24 Hours

Read more below

How to Get a Nevada Real Estate License

If you want to become a licensed real estate agent in Nevada, you must meet the following requirements: Studying at coffee shop

  • Must be 18 years or older to apply with a completed application (Form 549)
  • Submit the original fingerprint verification form issued by an approved fingerprint vendor (obtain Form 619 for Nevada approved vendors). You can find a list of authorized fingerprinting vendors on the following link
  • Complete a prelicensing course provided by an accredited real estate school. Be sure to compare the reviews of former agents on this page on AgentAdvice.com! The 90-hour education course has to consist of:
    • 45 hours or three college credits of Real Estate Principles.
    • 45 hours or three college credits Real Estate Law (must include 18 hours Nevada law) 

After you complete the prelicensing course, you need to submit proof of course completion by education certificate or certified college transcript.  

You need to submit these documents along with your Examination Application. Once your application has been approved, you can schedule the exam. 

After you pass the exam, you need to submit original passing exam results dated within the last 12 months.

Compare Nevada Real Estate Schools

We’ve listed the best schools in Nevada based on reader’s reviews here. Looking for our editor’s picks? See the best real estate schools in Nevada.

SchoolReviewsEditor's ScorePricing
Kaplan Real Estate Education
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star

based on 29 reviews

A- -
Real Estate Express
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star

based on 65 reviews

A- $150-$450
Key Realty School
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
B -
AYPO (At Your Pace Online)
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
  • full star
B -

Nevada Real Estate Licensing FAQs

If you want to become a licensed real estate agent in Nevada, you must meet the following requirements: 

  • Must be 18 years or older to apply with a completed application (Form 549)
  • Submit the original fingerprint verification form issued by an approved fingerprint vendor (obtain Form 619 for Nevada approved vendors). You can find a list of authorized fingerprinting vendors on the following link
  • Complete a prelicensing course provided by an accredited real estate school. Be sure to compare the reviews of former agents on this page on AgentAdvice.com! The 90-hour education course has to consist of:
    • 45 hours or three college credits of Real Estate Principles.
    • 45 hours or three college credits Real Estate Law (must include 18 hours Nevada law) 

After you complete the prelicensing course, you need to submit proof of course completion by education certificate or certified college transcript.  

You need to submit these documents along with your Examination Application. Once your application has been approved, you can schedule the exam. 

After you pass the exam, you need to submit original passing exam results dated within the last 12 months.

Obtaining a real estate license in Nevada takes longer than some states, but it’s far from complicated or difficult. The prelicensing education course lasting for 90 hours will equip you with all the knowledge required to pass the exam on the first try. You only need to pay attention to the topics covered in the courses and commit yourself to studying hard and regularly. 

The other requirements are mostly the same as in other states. You need to pass a background check to prove you’re trustworthy and apply to take the exam and pass it within one year.

As mentioned above, becoming a real estate agent in Nevada takes longer than some other states due to the 90-hour licensing course (many states have 40-60 hour requirements). You can finish the prelicensing education course within two months if you’re committed to going through it as fast as possible. 

Passing a background check usually takes around two weeks, around the same time required to process your application.

When you schedule the exam, you will be given a list of available dates based on availability. Each testing center has a different seating capacity, so the time it takes for you to schedule depends on how many students are currently enrolled to take the exam and how big the center is. 

In general, the whole process takes a few months from start to finish. The exact time depends on your characteristics, residency, and how fast you go through the prelicensing course and pass both portions of the exam. 

Nevada real estate agents earn a higher annual wage than the national average, $64,280 to be specific, while the top 10% of agents in the state can earn $98,800 or more. Agents from the Nevada nonmetropolitan area earn the most – $80,820 annually, with the 90th percentile wage getting to $122,570 per year. 

Nevada has real estate reciprocity agreements with the following states:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

Applicants that hold an active Real Estate license in any of these states, must provide the following: 

  • A certified license history issued by the state in which you are licensed. The history must be dated within 90 days of your application submission date.
  • Nevada fingerprint scan
  • Proof of passing the Nevada state examination
  • License Application (Form 549)

The largest portion of the costs of becoming a real estate agent in Nevada is the prelicensing education course. Most commonly, the cost of the complete 90-hour licensing education course is in the $250 to $600 range, but it can be slightly higher or lower depending on what the exact course covers. 

Besides the course, the following basic fees apply: 

  • The examination fee is $100, regardless if you’re taking one or both portions of the exam
  • The license application fee is $125
  • A license renewal fee is $180
  • Fingerprint scans cost $40.25

There are other costs involved, such as prep courses, study materials, tutoring, and related fees, but these are not mandatory and depend on your preferences. 

A college degree is not necessary to become a licensed real estate agent in Nevada, but having a college degree with a real estate major will be of great help. Having three college credits of real estate principles and three college credits of real estate law will exempt you from the educational requirements.

You must go to the Pearson Vue website to make an online reservation for an examination according to the step-by-step instructions. You have to make the reservation 24 hours before the desired examination date. 

If you want to make a phone reservation, you must do so at least 24 hours before the desired examination date

Before making a reservation, you should have the following:

  • Legal name, address, Social Security number, daytime telephone number, and date of birth
  • The name of the examination
  • The preferred examination date and test center location 

The salesperson and broker examination are divided into two parts: general (national) and state part. Those who pass one part of the examination and fail the other, need to retake only the failed part within 12 months. Candidates who, after 12 months, have not passed both parts must retake the entire examination.

Reservations for retaking the exam may not be made at the test center, and you must wait 24 hours before making one.

The real estate licensing exam has 120 questions in total – 80 questions in general (national) portion and 40 in the state portion. To pass the exam, you have 4 hours

The general (national) portion of the licensing examination covers eight areas in 80 questions:

  • Real property characteristics, legal descriptions, and property use
  • Forms of ownership, transfer, and recording of the title 
  • Property value and appraisal
  • Real estate contracts and agency
  • Real estate practice
  • Property disclosures and environmental issues
  • Financing and settlement
  • Real estate math calculations

The state portion of the licensing examination covers the following areas in 40 questions:

  • Duties and powers of the commission
  • Licensing requirements
  • Agency
  • License practice
  • Disclosures
  • Contracts
  • Record keeping
  • Special topics

To pass the exam, applicants need to have at least 75% correct answers. There are no official pass rates issued by the Nevada Real Estate Division. Each real estate school advertises pass rates as high as 75 to 90%, but these aren’t official nor confirmed percentages. 

 

There are three different types of Nevada real estate licenses: salesperson, broker-salesperson, and a broker.

  • A salesperson license is an initial license that will allow you to do the most basic real estate tasks, such as representing sellers and buyers for home transactions. All agents must act under and be supervised by a licensed broker. 
  • Broker-salesperson is the second level of a real estate license in Nevada. Broker-salespeople are individuals who have worked in the real estate industry for eight or more years or 64 college credits. Like salespeople, they also work under a broker but have more responsibility assigned to them, such as managing a branch office after two years of experience.
  • Brokers can work independently and supervise agents and broker-salespeople. They are real estate professionals that have completed a 45-hour broker management course and have worked for two years as a licensed salesperson or broker-salesperson.

Like in any other state, the national and state portions cover different topics and areas of the real estate industry. The national portion is taken in every state and covers real estate knowledge you have to know to practice real estate anywhere in the US, while the state portion tests your knowledge in the specific laws, regulations, and practice of real estate in Nevada.

When you arrive at the examination site, you will be required to present two forms of identification: primary and secondary. The primary identification must be government-issued, and photo-bearing with a signature, and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Both have to be in English. 

Accepted forms of primary ID:

  • Government-issued Driver’s License
  • Nevada US Department of State Driver’s License
  • Nevada US Learner’s Permit (plastic card only with photo and signature)
  • Nevada National/State/Country ID card
  • Nevada Passport
  • Nevada Passport Card
  • Nevada Military ID
  • Nevada Military ID for spouses and dependents
  • Nevada Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident Visa)

Accepted forms of secondary ID:

  • Nevada US Social Security card
  • Nevada Debit (ATM) or Credit card
  • Nevada Any form of ID on the Primary ID list

When you fill out your Application Form, you will be asked four questions to provide information about your criminal background: 

  • Have you had a professional or occupational license issued by any state, district, or territory of the United States or any foreign country suspended, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered instead of other disciplines within the last ten years?
  • Have you had a license, certificate, or registration suspended, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered instead of other disciplines within the last ten years?
  • Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, a felony or any crime involving fraud, misrepresentation, or moral turpitude?
  • Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, a felony relating to the practice of appraisal or real estate?

If you answer yes to any of these questions, you will be asked to give complete details, including the administrative agency, court, and title of the proceeding, disposition, and any other pertinent information.

The Nevada Real Estate Division may deny a license in the following cases: 

  • An applicant that has been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill or nolo contendere to, forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under pretenses, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, engaging in a real estate business without a license, possessing for sale any controlled substance or any crime involving moral turpitude, in any court of competent jurisdiction in the United States or elsewhere; and
  • Shall not issue a license to such a person until at least three years after:
    • The person pays any fine or restitution ordered by the court; or
    • The expiration of the period of the person’s parole, probation, or sentence, whichever is later.
  • The applicant has suspension or revocation of a license in this or any other state, district, or territory of the United States or any foreign country before the date of the application.